主要内容顶部

理财锦囊: 投资者要知道的经济指标

21/05/2018
国内生产总值
宏观
央行政策利率
采购经理指数

概要

  • 国内生产总值、采购经理指数及政策利率等宏观经济数据指标,备受金融业密切注视
  • 认识这些经济指标能助投资者更了解各国的经济变化,从而对投资作出规划
  • 我们的「Nowcast」研究方法是一种「大数据」系统方式,计算目前的经济在周期中的位置

了解这些经济指标如何增进您的投资成效

国内生产总值

国内生产总值(「GDP」)计算一个经济体在某段时间内最终商品与服务之货币价值。由于GDP能反映经济表现,因此是一个重要的指标。当一个国家的GDP扩张时,这代表经济呈增长状况,而当GDP收缩时,则反映经济回落。

对一个经济体系来说,当实质国内生产总值大幅增长时,其就业水平可望上升,而企业也有望赚取更多盈利,支持股价表现。我们可透过不同国家的GDP增长作比较,以了解相关国家的相对经济扩张前景。鉴于GDP数据具备相当广度,故此它是金融市场中最备受引用的数据指标之一。

采购经理指数

采购经理指数(「PMI」)调查用于估算制造业与服务业的活动。全球多个国家借此指标来观察宏观经济走势。普遍来说,数值在50以上表示活动处于扩张阶段,数值在50以下则代表情况收缩。

PMI乃软性数据(即以调查为本的数据,而非反映实体活动的硬性数据),主要用于衡量市场情绪。很多投资者把按月计算的PMI视为经济增长或收缩的领先指标,主要由于当市场需求收缩时,企业往往会马上暂停采购原料,远较其它报告(例如零售销售或消费者开支)更早地反映经济体内的潜在问题。

央行政策利率

 

中央银行制订货币政策及对经济作出重要调控,而利率是其中一项最主要的政策工具。环球市场最广泛关注的利率是美国的联邦基金利率,由联储局内的联邦公开市场委员会所制订。

由于利率对金融市场及经济体带来深远影响,因此备受投资者密切注视。利率可反映经济的走向,也影响借贷成本,储蓄回报等,而且是不少投资回报的重要组成部分。

即时预报经济动向

所有人都希望拥有能预知未来的水晶球。然而,经验一再告诉我们,经济难以预测。我们认为,尽管我们未必能预知未来,但作为投资者,我们需对当下的情况有所掌握。

我们的「临近预报」研究方法是一种」大数据」系统方式,用于计算目前经济在周期中所处的位置。我们从一系列经济数据中取得资料,每个国家可以多达80至200项数据.Nowcast模型每周运算一次,以提供经济活动的最新计算结果。因此,它可在刺激,随机及纷扰的宏观经济新闻中,发掘出相关的经济讯号。投资者可以之作为「计算便览」,评估我们今日所身处的商业周期。

Top of main content

Top economic indicators for investors to know

21/05/2018
Central bank policy rates
GDP
Macro
Purchasing Managers’ Indexes

Key Takeaways

  • GDP, PMI and policy rate are some of the macroeconomic data points that are closely monitored by the financial industry
  • Know these indicators could help investors understand the changes in a country’s economy better, hence plan for their investments
  • Our Nowcast methodology is a “big data” systematic approach that measures where we are in the economy cycle

Understand these indicators to improve your investment results

Gross Domestic Product

Gross domestic product (“GDP”) measures the monetary value of final goods and services produced in an economy in a given period of time. GDP is important due to the information it provides on an economy’s performance. An expansion of a country’s GDP is an indication of a growing economy, while a contraction in GDP signals an economic downturn.

When the GDP in an economy is growing strong, employment is likely to increase and companies are likely to make more profit, providing support to stock prices. A comparison on GDP growth rates across different countries also gives us an idea of the relative outlook of their economic expansion. Given its vast breadth, GDP is among the most quoted indicators by the financial markets.

Purchasing Managers’ Indexes

The purchasing managers’ index (“PMI”) surveys are used to gauge the activity in manufacturing and services. They are used by many countries worldwide to monitor the macroeconomic trend. Generally speaking, a reading above 50 indicates a sign of expansion and a reading under 50 represents a contraction.

Being a soft data (i.e. survey based data, as opposed to hard data which refers to tangible activity), the index is a measure of sentiment. Many investors see the monthly calculated PMI as a leading indicator for economic growth or contraction as companies usually stop purchasing raw materials immediately when the demand dries up, much before the time when other reports on retail sales or consume spending indicate any problems in an economy.

Central bank policy rates

Interest rate is one of the most important policy aspects of central banks which creates monetary policy and exerts significant control over a country’s economy. The most widely monitored interest rate in the world is the Fed Funds rate in the United States, which is set by the Federal Open Market Committee, a committee within the Federal Reserve.

Interest rates are closely watched by investors because of their profound implications on the financial markets and the economies and they can indicate the economy’s direction. They also influence the cost of borrowing and the return on savings, and are an important component of the return of many investments.

Nowcasting the economy

Everyone would like to get their hands on the fortune-telling crystal ball, but experience have repeatedly confirmed that forecasting the economy is difficult. We believe that while we may not see the future, investors need to have a good understanding of where we are today.

Our Nowcast methodology is a “big data” systematic approach that measures where we are in the economic cycle. We draw information from a whole range of economic data series – as many as 80 to 200 per country. We run our Nowcast model every week to provide an updated measure of economic activities. It identifies the relevant economic signal amid the excitement, randomness and noise of the macroeconomic news flow, so investors can use it as a “ready-reckoner” for where we are in the business cycle today.

1412-0004