主內容首部

貨幣走向受甚麼因素左右?

08/03/2018
匯率
利率
貨幣

了解貨幣市場對投資回報的影響

聯儲局自2015年底開始加息,我們是否可以預期美元會在加息週期內持續走強?

匯率具有相對性,受利率等眾多因素影響。一般來說,利率上升可導致匯率攀升。然而,若有其它因素帶動貨幣走勢向下,便會削弱利率上升的影響。

市場預期是其中一個重要因素。市場價格往往先行反映對事實的預期。倘若市場廣泛預期加息,實際加息時的影響便可能遠低於意外加息的影響。就美元而言,我們認為市場價格反映預期聯儲局在2018及2019年的加息週期相對溫和。然而,若當局收緊政策的步伐較預期快,美元便可能進一步升值。

除了利率以外,還有哪些經濟因素影響貨幣走勢?

正面的經濟數據或意外的政治事件可導致貨幣在短期內急升或急跌。惟短期的貨幣走勢非常難以預測。就中長期而言,則有多項主要因素可影響貨幣供求以及匯率走勢。

這些因素包括貨幣之間的相對購買力、一個國家的通脹水平、經濟實力,以及其與世界各地之貿易關係。整體而言,經濟較強的國家貨幣會較為強勢。出口多於進口的國家(即擁有貿易盈餘)往往其貨幣亦較強,此乃受到市場對其貨品的需求提振。此外,政府對外匯市場的干預亦可以左右貨幣的相對價值。

即使我沒有直接投資於貨幣市場,匯率波動會否影響我的投資回報?

若你投資於海外股票或債券市場,所得的收益或損失會被貨幣價值的變動所抵銷或擴大。假設你將10,000港元投資於歐洲資產,資產價格本身在12個月後並無變動,但歐元兌港元期內則升值達10%。那麼,當把投資折算成港元時,你的投資會錄得10%收益。同樣地,若歐元貶值10%,而資產價格維持不變,你的投資會錄得10%虧損。

不過,實際情況往往較上述假設例子複雜。貨幣貶值往往利好「出口導向」國家(即成分股的很大部分盈利來自海外銷售收益)的股票市場,因這增添了它們的貨品在海外市場的競爭力。因此,日本及德國等出口導向市場的股票表現跟其貨幣走勢相反,是很常見的情況。在這些情形下,海外投資者所持有的股票受惠於貨幣貶值的同時,貨幣貶值也削弱了其收益。

新興市場債券:「硬貨幣」與「本地貨幣」

投資者通常接觸的新興市場債券主要有兩種。第一種是「硬貨幣」計價的債券,基本上按成熟市場國家的貨幣計價,其中最常用的貨幣是美元。若以美元為本的投資者買入以美元計價的新興市場債券,便不用面對匯率波動引發的貨幣風險。

第二種新興市場債券則是按本地貨幣計價的債券。投資者按本地貨幣(如印尼盾)買入債券。除了相關債券的價格變動外,印尼盾兌美元的升跌也會影響投資價值。

下表列舉了本地貨幣及硬貨幣計價的新興市場債券之一些主要差異:

有意把投資組合部分配置於新興市場債券的投資者,便要從硬貨幣債券與本地貨幣債券之間作出選擇。與此同時,很多新興市場債券基金會就此兩類債券進行投資配置。閣下宜仔細研究有關潛在債券基金的投資詳情,以了解組合中債券的計價貨幣,確保其符合閣下的風險胃納與投資目標。

Top of main content

What makes currencies move?

08/03/2018
Currencies
Interest Rates
Exchange rate

Learn how the currency market affect your investment returns

Exchange rates are relative and determined by various factors like interest rates. Generally speaking, higher interest rates would cause the exchange rate to rise. However, the impact of higher interest rates would be mitigated if there are other factors that drive the currency down.

One of the important factors is market expectation. The market tends to price in expectations way ahead of the reality. If a rate hike is widely anticipated before it happens, its actual impact on the currency will likely be much weaker than a surprise rate hike. As for the US dollar, we think the market has priced in a relatively mild Fed rate cycle in 2018 and 2019. However, if the pace of policy tightening were to accelerate faster than market expectations, the dollar could strengthen further.

Besides interest rates, what are the other economic factors that make currencies move?

Positive economic data releases or an unexpected political event could cause a currency to jump or slip in the short term. But it is very difficult to forecast short-term currency movements. In the medium or long term, there are several main factors that influence the demand and supply of currencies and thus their exchange rates.

These factors include the relative purchasing power of a currency, inflation level in the economy, strength of the economy as well as a country’s trading relationship with the rest of the world. In general, a stronger economy implies a stronger currency. Countries that export more than they import (i.e. having a trade surplus) will typically have stronger currencies, boosted by the demand for their goods. Meanwhile, government intervention in the foreign exchange market could also lead to a change in the relative value of a currency.

Would exchange rates fluctuation affect my investment returns even if I am not directly exposed to the currency market?

If you invest in overseas stock or bond markets, any gains or losses will be offset or enlarged by the change in currency values. Assume you put HKD10,000 in European assets, the price of the asset itself doesn’t move after 12 months but the euro climbs by 10% against the HKD. When your investment is converted back into the HKD, you will see an investment gain of 10%. Similarly, if the euro falls by 10% without the asset price moving, you have lost 10%.

In many circumstances, the reality could be more complicated than the above assumption. Stock markets that are more “export-oriented” (i.e.with constituents that make a large portion of profits from sales abroad) will usually benefit from a depreciation in currency which makes their goods more competitive overseas. Therefore, it is very common to see export-oriented markets such as the Japanese and German stock markets to move in opposite direction with their currencies. In such situation, as an overseas investor, while the stocks you own benefit from the currency depreciation, the gains are mitigated by the fall in the currency value.

Emerging market bonds: “hard currency” versus “local currency”

Many investors would have come across two types of emerging market bonds. The first one is denominated in “hard currencies” which are basically currencies of developed countries, most commonly the US dollar. If a USD-based investor purchase USD-denominated emerging market bonds, he/she is not affected by currency risk arising from exchange rate fluctuations.

Meanwhile, bonds that are denominated in local currencies are the second type of emerging market debts. In this case, investors buy the bonds in terms of the local currency, e.g. the Indonesian rupiah. The implication is that in addition to the price movement of the underlying bond, the value of the investment is also affected by the rise and fall of the rupiah against the US dollar.

We highlight some of the key differences between local currency and hard currency emerging market bonds in the table below:

Investors who are looking to allocate a portion of their portfolio to emerging market bonds must make a choice between hard currency and local currency bonds. Meanwhile, many emerging market bond funds allocate investments between these two types of bonds. You are advised to study carefully any potential bond fund investment to make sure you understand the currency denominations of the bonds in its portfolio to confirm that the fund fits your risk appetite and investment objective.